Day 48 – How do you deal with disappointment?

People will disappoint you in life. Friendships you’ve had for years will fall apart. People you’ve looked up to will not always have your interest at heart. Strangers will not always be who they say they are. The loves of your life will change and often, you might even disappoint yourself with life choices and roads less taken. This will happen at home and at work.

It hurts because you will be left with no choice than to embrace the bittersweet aftermath. Eventually, you will find the strength to accept it and move on. You will also learn that while people never fail to disappoint, there are those who will never cease to amaze you. For both these types of people on this journey of life, I am grateful. It has been difficult accepting relationships that fall apart. It has been tougher to let go of something you believed in. But it is these experiences that taught me to value my beliefs and self, and not give for the sake saving something that wasn’t true to begin with. Never let anyone walk all over your love or allow them to shake your confidence. Those that matter will find way to find common ground, as will you.

In all of my 24 years, I would like to believe that I have learnt to accept disappointment. I can’t say I have learned to embrace it and move on with ease because it still stings, and there is no getting used to it – friend or foe. But I have learned to come to terms with the fact that it will happen more often that you would like. I have learned to channel the disappointment into positive energy, heal and move on. I have learned that every person or encounter from the past has shaped my present, and I love where I am today.

Gratitude and good vibes only.

Today’s tune: The Man Who Can’t Be Moved by The Script.

Day 48 – 2 October 2017.
318 days to go.

Thanks for listening and if you relate, say hello, please and thank you.

Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

Leave a Reply

